top of page
Search

Meet The Officers: Design


Design Officer

Amanda Joline


Major | Fashion Merchandising & Fashion Design

Minor | Fashion Media & Textiles

Junior & Member of DUFD since 2018














@amandajoline_


Dress up for Downs was the first organization that I joined at Kent State University. Throughout the design process, I did not realize how much the organization meant to me until the night of the big show! Everything was finally coming together, the garments were all finished, the decorations were all up and the best part, all of the models were smiling from ear to ear. After the first show, I knew I wanted to be more involved with Dress Up for Downs than just being a designer, so I became a design officer so that I could help all of the designers feel the way I felt on the night of our annual fashion show.


I am also part of 4 Paws for Ability. I raise dogs to become service dogs for children and veterans in need. I am currently raising my third foster, Butterkist. For almost every meet up with the models, my foster has come along with me. Seeing the smile on the model's faces when they see the dogs is so heartwarming. Some of the models are afraid at first, but they warm up to the loving pups! I am not sure exactly what I want to do after graduating college, but after working with Dress Up for Downs, I know that I want to do something with special needs people to make their days just a little bit brighter!


Design Officer

Sarah Kuhnke


Major | Fashion Design

Junior & Member of DUFD since 2018













@sarah.kuhnke


Hi everyone!


My name is Sarah and here's a bit about me! I live in a suburb outside of Milwaukee in Wisconsin (which is 8 hours from campus)! I have always loved all types of crafts, but got into sewing when I was around 10. My favorite type of sewing projects are ones where I am taking pre existing clothes whether it from the thrift store, or just from my own closet, and re-designing them! I want to go into the sustainability side of the fashion industry to finding a way to use as many recycled materials as possible for my projects is always the goal! I also love everything to do with music. In high school I was in theater, band, and choir. Now I am in one of the acapella groups on campus and have tons of fun!


This will be my third year in DUFD and it has been amazing. I have grown so much as a designer and person through this organization and it is such a rewarding process! Seeing our models work that runway after so much hard work is one of the highlights of my year! I'm so excited for another great year with an amazing group of people!



Design Officer

Carlene Trujillo


Major | Fashion Design

Minor | Marketing

Junior & Member of DUFD since 2018
















@xxclose


Growing up I have always loved helping others. When coming to Kent I was searching for clubs to get involved in. When I heard about Dress Up for Downs I knew it was the club for me. I love meeting the models and getting to design a special garment for them that they love. My passion for design started at a young age with jewelry making and knitting. I started sewing when I was 14 years old and have loved it ever since. I am very excited to be a design officer this year and looking forward to this years fashion show!


23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page