top of page
Search

Meet The Officers: Entertainment


Entertainment

Miranda Canacci

Major | Fashion Merchandising

Minor | Marketing

Junior & Member of DUFD since 2018












@mcanacci


Hello! My name is Miranda Canacci and I am a junior Fashion Merchandising major with a minor in marketing. I am one of the entertainment officers for Dress Up for Downs, and I’m really excited to start working on this year’s fashion show. So far, I have filled the positions of marketing director and vice president on the DUFD executive board, both of which have been amazing experiences. I joined DUFD as a freshman after reading about the organization while researching for an assignment in my First Year Experience class. I was scrolling through a variety of fashion organizations when I found DUFD and the description immediately piqued my interest. I found the organization’s table at Blastoff, went to the first meeting, and I’ve been a member ever since. I have made so many wonderful memories while working with this organization, but there’s one that really sticks out to me. One of our models, Audrey, is in an improv troupe called The Improvaneers, which is comprised entirely of individuals with Down syndrome. Once I found out about this, I asked her and her mom about it. Without hesitating, Audrey searched around in her bag before finding a business card with her face on it. It was information for the group and a quick bio about Audrey. She asked her mom for a pen and signed it before handing it to me. “I wrote a special message on it for you,” she said. I looked down and saw the message: love you, Audrey.


When I’m not doing work for Dress Up for Downs, you’ll likely find me working as a barista and crew lead at either of the on-campus Starbucks locations. I love my job and I have amazing co-workers, but I’d be lying if I said my favorite part isn’t the free food and drinks. In my free time, I enjoy photography, modeling, listening to music, anything true crime related, and most recently, playing Animal Crossing. I took every photography class I could in high school and I bring my camera with me any time I go somewhere new or interesting. Since I have friends who are also interested in photography, I tend to end up on the other side of the camera to help friends with projects. This interest led me to A Magazine, a beauty, fashion, and lifestyle magazine created by Kent students. I had the honor of being on the magazine’s cover my freshman year, and it’s one of the coolest things I’ve ever been a part of. In a much different vein, I am a big fan of all things true crime and love watching documentaries and listening to podcasts about some of the most horrible people that have ever existed. Super relaxing way to spend my free time, right? Not for everyone, but it works for me.


I hope this bio helped you get to know me a bit better. I look forward to the new school year and all it has to offer. I have a feeling that this may be our best show yet.






Entertainment

Emily Ford


Major | Fashion Merchandising & Visual Communication Design

Minor | Marketing

Junior & Member of DUFD since 2019











@gymily


I have been a member of Dress Up for Downs since the fall of 2019. My favorite memory from Dress Up for Downs was the final runway show and seeing the models rock it on the runway. Dress Up for Downs is such a wonderful organization and I am thrilled to be a part of it.


I am a volunteer with the organization 4 Paws for Ability and have enjoyed the opportunity to work with a service dog in training. I am currently raising a goldendoodle named Agapi, Gupi for short. She is a little over a year old now and making great progress in her training. As a volunteer I work on basic commands and socializing her to all sorts of sights, sounds, and environments. I also have two dogs of my own at home that I love to spend time with. My family has some beautiful horses, but I especially enjoy the goofy donkey who is filled with personality.


I love traveling, going to the beach, spending time with my friends and family, listening to music and I have recently been working on my sewing and crafting skills. I was a gymnast for fourteen years and involved in the sport as a coach and assistant choreographer. My primary goal at the moment is to get back on campus and have a great year.




26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page